U-PHORIA UM2 Reviews



Audiophile 2x2 USB Audio Interface with XENYX Mic Preamplifier

U-PHORIA UM2 Reviews

4/5.0 based on 152 customer reviews

  • from Ant
    March 01, 2016

    Pefect to use with Guitar Amp software to output to a guitar amp

    Purchased this interface for about $30. I tried to do the best research I could, but I was a little in the dark about how to actually use this device, or its potential. My main goal was to use this with Ableton Live (or similar) and not only record, but have it filter through guitar amp software (Bias FX, Guitar Rig, etc) and exit out into a guitar amplifier. It works FANTASTIC. Best of all, you can use two devices that record on SEPARATE TRACKS! I am able to fully record using both inputs with little latency (input/output lag). I asked on a guitar gear message forum and they shut down the idea saying this is a piece of junk and I should get much higher quality interface. The hardware alone was hundreds of dollars, and even then it was considered mediocre. Come on, I need this for FUN, not to record my next platinum album. Going against there advice, I bought it anyways. One very important thing I read about this are the drivers. Apparently the new drivers are junk and use a generic ASIO4ALL (or something like that) driver that is in-fact, generic. This means that a wide variety of manufactures can use this driver for all sorts of interfaces and all sorts of software will know exactly what to do with it. That's great, but the problem with this device is well, its $30 and it really needs fine tuned proprietary drivers, which exist but for no good reason was pulled by Behringer. They still can be found via a quick google search, however i believe they are only compatible with Windows 7 x64. They are very important to use. After the drivers were installed I was able to use the second input as well as control the latency using the driver software. Even running through Ableton as well as Guitar Rig (virtual amp software) the latency was fine. There was a very, very slight delay from the second I strummed the strings to the time that the sound came out the amplifier. If I had to put a number on the latency I would say 150ms to 250ms delay. It is very manageable and for the price I paid I can't complain. I get a raw and loud sound that makes it sound about 80% to a full mesa head. I am able to emulate so many sounds, everyone that hears it gets incredibly jealous. Go for it!!

  • from Dagen
    December 01, 2014

    I love my Behringer audio interface and it was easy to get started.

    I am very happy with my Behringer UM2 Audio Interface. I used to have a home studio crowded with gear and I just started getting into digital multi-track recording and playing with my midi gear. I love computers and at last I am making quality audio with my PC.

  • from dogjawinc
    September 08, 2014

    Behringer Uphoria UM2....You Won't Be Disappointed!

    The capability of this piece of gear is outstanding. I previously tried direct recording and had all kinds of latency problems. The direct output monitor of the UM2 completely solves that issue. Just don't forget to download the driver from Behringer, otherwise only one input will record. Just as a heads up, only input one has phantom power capability, in case you where looking to use two condenser mics (you have to use your own pre-amp for input two). Also comes with Tracktion 4 which is excellent.

  • from Mister B.
    December 24, 2014

    It's a keeper

    I was going to purchase a Focusrite unit. However, I've used Behringer before. I like their quality and simplicity. So, I gave the UM2 a try. It worked perfectly. I have no issues with it and it cost a lot less than other units that don't do anymore. In short this unit works well with my Behringer mixer. It's a keeper

  • from Jeff Schoonover
    June 16, 2015

    and it's price point is nice as well

    This little box has come in so handy over the past year. I've used it as an input for all kinds of mics, phantom powered and not. It's been an instrument input, headphone amplifier, and I've even used it to monitor on stage using IEM's. It's become my go-to tool for nearly everything. I think I need two of them. The mic/instrument pre-amp is silent and transparent. I really couldn't ask for more, and it's price point is nice as well.

  • from Reid
    February 18, 2016

    Does its job

    Does what I need it to do - record single tracks at a time through a USB interface. Sounds good and is quite a value compared to some of the other brands offering the same product. Make sure you have software either also purchased or in use because it doesn't come with any, though that was pretty clearly worded in the description.

  • from S. Epstein
    March 26, 2015

    Does the trick, and cost is reasonable.

    Does everything I need it to do to work with Jamkazam. Has input for mic and guitar, and output for headphones. Also supports condenser mic... if you are into that sort of thing. Made well enough, and small... sits on top of my vertical case computer cabinet.

  • from Roman
    January 20, 2016

    Exactly what you'd want, except...

    Perfect solution for the musician on a budget. This interface does exactly what it's supposed to do, and it's all a beginner could need in a price tag this low. Definitely a recommended piece of equipment for someone who doesn't already own an audio interface EDIT: at the current price ($100) this piece of equipment is not the best option. If you want an audio interface for $100 you will find the Scarlett Solo to be a much better choice, as well as many other interfaces at this range, as the UM2 used to be only $30, which was a practical steal for equipment like this.

  • from Lavon
    May 12, 2015

    It's easy sy to adjust your gain and output on the ...

    Works amazingly!!! I use a Audio Technica AT 2035 mic that sounds crisp and clear and this interface serves well in supporting it. It's easy sy to adjust your gain and output on the fly. Easy to turn on or off the phantom power of you don't need it or want it off. The set up is easy as pluging it in and go. Also I found that this interface works exceptionally well with acoustic/ electric guitars (XLR). I did a few recordings with this and it was nothing but happiness and excitement for me. ( I haven't tried the 1/2in cable jack yet, so i don't know how that will turn out) Overall, it's a great buy, and is worth the price.

  • from mark
    June 20, 2014

    i couldn't be more satisfied..

    Works great.. im using it with my cad gxl2200.. awesoommee..!! if u plan to buy fast track, buy this instead.. :-)

Submit your review

characters left.