Tracker

V-TONE BASS DRIVER DI BDI21 Reviews

BDI21

BDI21

Bass Amp Modeler/Direct Recording Preamp/DI Box

V-TONE BASS DRIVER DI BDI21 Reviews

4.3/5.0 based on 123 customer reviews

  • from Michael Cole-Rodgers
    September 19, 2016

    Functional DI box for a great price. The rest is gravy!

    I'm a long time guitarist but new to bass. First of all, this is a good value just as a DI box. After playing a gig with my crummy bass amp mic'ed with a cheap "all-purpose" dynamic by an unprepared sound guy, I needed a solution. So this thing can split your signal into a balanced signal to run into the board and the PA and subwoofers if you have them, and an unbalanced signal for your amp/monitor. Expectations met and exceeded right there. On top of that, it has a few nice features: the eq is always handy; the drive is... not TOO bad, but will do in a pinch (my crummy amp doesn't help), and you can blend the clean and modeled signals to your taste. It's plastic, but It feels pretty well made.

  • from Tom Breeden
    September 18, 2016

    Five Stars

    Great product installed and works as advertised

  • from plc
    December 07, 2010

    Can't go wrong for the price

    This was exactly what I was looking for. I mostly play in church through a Crate BX-25 amp, which has no character at all. The BDI21 is just the thing to warm up my sound. Some reviewers have mentioned that it can suck tone, but I've found this to be a non-issue with an active bass (I can't speak to how it works with a passive bass). My only real complaint is that the knobs can be hard to read in anything approaching low light, but I put a little white paint in the indentations and they're much easier to read now.

  • from Giallo For Life
    November 24, 2008

    can't go wrong for the price.

    I fortunately had no problems with the pedal being of faulty construction like the 1st reviewer above. I also have two Behringer GDI21s. (guitar version of this pedal) Similiar to the GDI21's i use this pedal in the studio for only in ear practice and recording scratch tracks. I never plan to use it live. and probably wouldn't. i'd go for a qaulity tube bass amp, nice bass and good playing before i'd throw a pedal infront of my rig. Simple controls that are pretty much idiot proof unless you dial everything to ten. Very musical eq, i usually leave all the controls flat accept blend which i crank all the way for the darker more vintage like tube sound. counter clockwise on the blend gives you a brighter and punchier solid state tone. check out the preset settings in the manual they work well. same as the Behringer GDI21 a variety of tones here. no amp switches or mic placement though. the drive when cranked suits dist bass tones well. get a 9-volt adapter. I bought the V-tone Bass and 2 V-tone guitar pedals + adapters for roughly $150.00. If i had gone with sansamp pedals i'd be looking at $650.00 to $700.00 and to think i'd still be using the sansamps for scratch tracks. works as direct box when pedal is deactivated too just like the Behringer GDI21.

  • from Colorado Kid
    May 10, 2012

    Works Great!

    Tried out the BDI21 at home with my bass and Kustom Bass Amp. This box really warms up the tone for my bass and tried an acoustic guitar plugged in with good results as well. I like the DI part as well just one little box to plug in direct on stage for a great Bass sound.

  • from Sean Geist
    August 18, 2013

    Excellent product!

    This pedal is ridiculously useful. It has a very "SansAmp" type sound, but about 1/8th the price. People oftentimes speak to its ruggedness (or lack thereof); I can say, I've used it often at gigs and home, and it's nowhere near breaking or fail. It did eat batteries like mad, so I opted for the AC Adapter, which I'd highly advise doing. But for a total of 50 bucks? For the adapter and pedal, NEW, you cannot possibly go wrong. Get two of 'em if you're worried about durability! But have no fear, it's plenty durable. The preamp really livens up a passive bass, it just has this entirely new dimension. And an active bass will overdrive it nicely. There haven't been any real downsides with this device. (And I bought it new 2 years ago! Just now getting around to this review.) It also has a DI built in. All this for what, 40 bucks? It's surreal. Go for it! You won't be disappointed.

  • from Kevin D. Corcoran Jr.
    December 15, 2010

    What a steal!

    Honestly, this modeler costs about the same as a solid direct injection box that only does direct injection. Given that alone, it makes sense to purchase this instead! This made my bass sound like butter on my speakers... simply melted sound greatness. I run a pretty legitimate home studio and this beat any sound I ever got using a Mic and Bass amp. I even ran a guitar through it for some tracks... makes it nice and beefy. (Also great to use late at night for guitar when you want to jam but your amp is just a bit too loud!) Also, solidly constructed. It's heavy, and seems durable enough to tour or mobile record with. The only flaw (and not that big of one) is that it does not include the power cable. It runs on a 9v battery, but for use in a studio when it is turned on for long periods of time (sometimes left on if your head is in the mix!) the battery just dies too often. Otherwise an excellent purchase!

  • from DuxDlux
    March 01, 2016

    Can't imagine better for the money

    Back in the 80's I made about 1/2 of my living off of playing in bands. After picking this up recently, I thought "how did I get by with such a boring flat tone for all those years?" Just recently me and two old band mates decided to get back together as a trio with bass, guitar and drums. I was looking for something to give a little definition to my tone, as I found it being lost in the mix often, especially my mids. I did lots of reading and watched lots of online videos and decided to take a chance on this based on what I saw and I didn't want to spend a lot as little as we play. So far I can say that I'm very happy with this driver. I'm still learning how to tweak it for various styles of music but it can give you a fuzzed out grunge to just some extra punch. It definitely filled out my sound and gives me much more presence at all ranges. I could see where some would think the road worthiness of it probably isn't there, but me, I just set it on my amp and push it on and off and adjust it as needed between songs. So no concerns about breaking it from my perspective. I also grabbed the power supply so as not to worry about battery replacement. At the price point, seems like a fantastic buy and did exactly what I wanted it to.

  • from Alios12345
    August 07, 2012

    Holy Bass Batman!

    I was a bit skeptical at first as this is a DI for under 100$ and ive always been told you "get what you pay for". But wow. After it came in the mail I pugged her up in between my 200$ Jazz Bass and my Acoustic half stack and this pedal really brought my tone alive. Comparing the tones between with the Behringer BDI21 and without you can hear a HUGE difference in tone. Plugged in normally my tone is really gritty and dry lacking warmth and definition. But one I tweak it with the BDI21 it sounds just like a 1000$ bass that I have played at guitarcenter on a MarkBass amp. I have to say I am now a believer in Behringer and for the 30$ I payed for this pedal I am in awe at its quality. My friend has a SansAmp DI (apparently the more expensive version of this pedal) and we both agree that the Behringer almost produces a better sound. Thumbs up to this pedal, I highly reccomend it! Also kudos to my seller (was bought used), Amazon has a knack of having packages get flown over by superman. I ordered it on friday and it was at my doorstep on monday morning.

  • from Neil Pham
    March 05, 2013

    Behringer BDI21 V-Tone Bass Amp Modeler

    Very impressive with the box performance and the price. There is no brand can compare. Super low noise and very nice tone change when you turn the knob a lots of choice for you adjustment. Wonderful stuff with the super low price compare to BOSS or other brands. Thanks to Behringer to help the poor musicians.

Submit your review

characters left.